Waiting for Works in Progress

A journal page from last week.

The artist and frame maker Robert Kulicke once said, “A painting is finished when you agree with it, no matter if it took one hour or four months.” And the older I get, the more I see the truth in that–and the more I realize what patience it sometimes takes to get to the point of agreement.

Back when I was in college, an old boyfriend first introduced me to this idea. I was taking an Introduction to Photography class and was frustrated that a recent contact sheet showed no potential. I didn’t like anything I saw, but I couldn’t explain why. “Put it away for six months and look at it again. I bet you’ll like it better,” he told me. I should have listened–he was a much more experienced photographer than I was–but I just grumbled about how that didn’t help me finish my current project.

Years later I found that contact sheet and wondered why I had hated it so much.

Now I often go back to collages or journal pages that I was never totally happy with–ones that are months or even years old–to see if I can find a way to agree with them. I sometimes find that although I was stuck before, I now have enough experience to get past whatever was stopping me. I see right away what I need to do to “fix” the piece. Other times I need to have enough distance from my initial expectations so that what I once stubbornly considered “wrong” becomes something that doesn’t have to be fixed at all. And then there are the times when I realize that the piece will never be something I can agree with. Then I paint over it without any regrets. I clear my head and start over.

That’s one of the reason why I keep a handful of journals going at the same time. If one frustrates, me I can easily move to another. This keeps me from getting too anxious while I wait to realize what the “disagreement” is really about.

And every once in a while, I work on a page when just a few lines or three torn pieces result in a collage or journal page that seems “done.” I realize that, at times, agreement comes quickly and easily, without waiting.

Thank goodness!

(P.S. That old boyfriend… that was the only thing he was right about!)

I started this drawing two months ago. I am not in agreement with it yet--abstracts are especially hard for me to finish!

2 thoughts on “Waiting for Works in Progress

  1. What a great topic! i agree with you that it does help to set something aside. Sometimes I fall in love and other times I still dislike it. I am reading a good book called Water Paper Paint [http://heathersmithjones.com/section/199312_Water_Paper_Paint.html] and there is a terrific project where you CUT UP a painting and then rearrange the pieces. I have one that I did it with and working on now. I took the 3x3inch squares and now I am drawing on them. they are all their own little gems now!
    So go figure! I love love love your sketch with the hands, to me it looks like holding your hands out to the stars and accepting the universe. Amazing!
    have a GREAT day!!!

    • Wow–cutting up a painting–great idea! I hope you share the one you say you are working on; I’d love to see it!!! And, thanks for always stopping by with a great comment and nice compliment! 🙂

Leave a Reply...

