Does It Take Five Minutes?

…’cause that’s what I have time for. Anything that takes five minutes or less gets done; everything else has to wait.

Having spent five and a half years getting used to the limited energy that a brain injury leaves you with, I feel ok about this. Although some interpret my attitude as either aloofness or self-importance, it isn’t either. I am used to prioritizing ruthlessly, to cutting things out of my schedule that  I really enjoy–knowing that I won’t really enjoy them anyway if I’m worn out.

A few minutes with my art journal here and there is all I’ve had time for. (I’ve had even less time to upload those pages to flickr or tumblr to share with others.) At least those time constraints have led to some interesting results. What is hastily done doesn’t have time to get precious, and what might seem careless can also seem care-free.

But I hate letting others down. I’ve got some pending blog posts and other updates to share here that I will get to–promise.

As soon as I have more than five minutes. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Does It Take Five Minutes?

  1. Great drawing! I have this experience too, though I am lucky in that I can usually squeeze out 15min before becoming overwhelmed, exhausted, or unable ti function further. I, too, examine each possibility in my day and say, “Can I do this in 15 min or less? Or can I at least do it in small steps off and on throughout the day?” I love how you share your experiences along with your art. It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply...

