Sometimes, It’s About the “Stuff”

Yay for Moleskine notebooks and other great art supplies!

This time of year seems like the perfect opportunity to talk about consumerism in our culture and question whether it has gotten out of hand. But since I don’t have anything original to say on that topic, I won’t bother saying anything at all.

But I will write about “stuff”–my art stuff, to be exact.

The other day I went to the store to buy some Moleskine journals. Those Moleskines aren’t cheap, as I’m sure you’ve noticed. And it was the week before Christmas, so I had to fight to find a parking space at the store and then stand in line to pay. My wait gave me ample time to ask myself, “Why are you doing this? What makes this notebook different than any other?” Yet I wasn’t able to articulate, even to myself, what exactly justified their price and my effort. So I just headed home with some new Moleskines and was happy.

By the time I got home, I had changed to wondering why I get so much satisfaction from art supplies–and not just my journals and notebooks. I love new paintbrushes, and paints, and fresh colored pencils, and pens I can uncap for the first time. This feeling would be easier to understand if I told you I enjoyed these tools whenever I use them, but the truth is that it is more than that. I like knowing they are there at my art desk waiting for me. I enjoy arranging them and rearranging them in my art cabinet. I can’t wait to wander all the aisles of an art supply store, even when I have gone there to purchase one thing and one thing only. I just like “stuff.” And I don’t think I am the only one!

I had a friend who suggested that these feelings might be rooted in “creative avoidance.” I.e.–The idea that if you are feeling uninspired and lack confidence in your creativity, you can at least enjoy the tools of creativity without actually using them (and perhaps failing). Hmm. Maybe.

Or it is that we, as artists, are looking for newness and novelty? After all, it’s easier to buy a new sketchbook and pencil than it is to learn to draw somthing new or in a new way.

Neither of those explainations seem totally wrong, but they don’t seem totally right, either. I am not sure what causes us to connect with objects, but when one of my boys wants to sleep with a new toy of his right on the nightstand next to him, I somehow understand. In fact, maybe I’ll slip one of those Moleskines under my pillow tonight.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes, It’s About the “Stuff”

  1. Oh this is a good post! I know exactly what you mean. I love art stuff too! But for me i don’t think those feeling are about “creative avoidance”, not at all. For me, its all about hope. My pens, papers, paints hold promise for me. And actually it would be creative avoidance but I’m avoiding my everyday tasks, responsibilities in order to get the chance to escape! LOL. My toughest time was when I was in Florida I did next to nothing in the painting and drawing department for 7 years. *gasp* But I had my stuff in a part of my office and I would do the same… straighten,fix, rearrange my paints, leaf thru sketchbooks every so often. I’d buy pens, paper, but saved them.. And that was what kept me holding on.Being surrounded by my ‘stuff’d gave me hope to hang on and to have a tiny bit of faith that I’ll get to the point and to a day that I’ll get back to my art. And I did!

Leave a Reply...

