Remember Color?

All that’s left to complete for my submission to The Sketchbook Project 2012 is to wrap up my journal into a safe package and send it off. Yes, I’ve finished the pages, scanned them, and over the next few days I will have the last handful of images color-corrected and posted to flickr. Yay!

It’s surprising to me that I’ve enjoyed working on the project so much that I don’t even mind that I am parting with the journal. I thought it would be hard for me to give up something I had carefully created, but instead I am excited and look forward to sharing it. (In fact, I just signed up for The Sketchbook Project Limited Edition!)

It is also a bit surprising–and kind of funny–that although I fully embraced the “monochromatic” theme, now that I am back to my personal journal, I am also back to color. I really love my water-soluble graphite pencils that I used though out my journal for The Sketchbook Project, and I have even created some personal journal pages with them. But I haven’t touched them for a few days now.

Instead, I’ve been using many of the paints and inks (and crayons and pencils) that I put aside for the brief time I was working on my monochromatic pages. So, I guess it’s a “color correction” in it’s own way.

Going back and forth between extremes–that achieves balance, right?

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Remember Color?

  1. I love the hearts and that blue is gorgeous! Hope you are doing well:) December is such a busy month. Good luck with the new sketchbook project. I did the November art every day and it kind wiped me out. LOL! But I’m slowly gaining speed. Take care, FranT

    • Hi Fran–
      Yes, December is so busy! I have three blog post drafts that I haven’t finished (maybe one today?) and quite a few journal pages in various stages! Hope you are enjoying the season–and I hope to see you on flickr soon! Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply...

