Searching for Shapes

Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it.–Michelangelo

"Hope + Expectation = Faith"

Sometimes when I am working in my journal, I see “something” in the inked or painted background I’ve created:  an image that calls out to be traced in pen or pencil. Something simple, uncomplicated, and direct that is suggested by the shapes the background has created.

Yet even though the image leaps out of the background before me with absolute confidence and certainty, it seems like a risk to me to follow that vision. The image I think I see is never what I intended for that background or that journal page, and I wonder if I’m becoming a bit like those little old ladies who see the Virgin Mary in their toast.

Yes, I hesitate; but the urge to follow that call always overcomes me. And in the end I am always satisfied with the results. It’s not because I think that the finished piece is a great work of art or because I feel that I have something in common with Michelangelo–it’s more a feeling of relief, like when you’ve finally had a chance to say what’s been on your mind.

The blue streaks suggested the fingers of a hand to me the day I created this page.

2 thoughts on “Searching for Shapes

  1. I love this > I wonder if I’m becoming a bit like those little old ladies who see the Virgin Mary in their toast <
    I can really relate to what you say about following the call. I am trying to make that my intent more and more. Honestly the majority of the time I'll be working and at the same time be wondering if I would be able to sell this on Etsy or what have you…but when i do just 'go with it' I have that small bit of relief as well. Thank you for stating that so succinctly

Leave a Reply...

